What’s Baking?

You always think that you know your friends and know all their interests and hobbies, and then you get surprised by them and find their hidden talents. This happened with me recently when I saw my friend post a photo of the best looking Cupcakes I have ever seen, and naturally I thought she bought them from a bakery and asked her of their name. To my astonishing surprise SHE actually made the cupcakes herself at home :O shocker I know. They were so pretty that I knew I wanted her to share with you (my readers) her recipe. 
I asked her to write a post and take pictures of her amazing creations and she instantly agreed. So, I hope you enjoy this post and I think it could make a very beautiful and touching gift for your Loved Ones since Valentine’s Day is around the corner. 

I once read a saying that goes along of the lines of “you can’t be sad when holding a cupcake”. This is also absolutely true when it comes to baking them! The whole process of picturing the final outcome and then working towards transforming your visualization to an edible reality is simply therapeutic.

I wanted to make a cupcake bouquet and this is what I came up with!

2

To produce this you need:

Ingredients:

  • 175g of unsalted butter
  • 175g of caster sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 175g of self-raising flour

Method:

  1. Heat the oven to 180◦C (350F)
  2. Prepare the baking tin and place 12 medium sized cupcake liners in each tin.
  3. Beat the butter and sugar in a mixing bowl until soft and creamy.
  4. Beat one egg at a time until smooth.
  5. Slowly add the self-raising flour.
  6. Add the vanilla extract.
  7. Spoon the mixture into the cupcake liners and bake for 20 minutes.

Now on to the exciting bit! For the VANILLA BUTTERCREAM you need:

  • 75g of unsalted butter
  • 250g of icing sugar
  • ½ tsp of vanilla extract

 

Method:

  1. Beat the butter until soft.
  2. Slowly add the icing sugar and beat until smooth
  3. Add the vanilla extract and stir

Tip: if you want a thicker consistency, simply add more icing sugar.

Now separate the buttercream into three separate bowls and add pink food colouring into the first bowl and red food colouring into the second. Pipe the buttercream onto the cupcake in the form of a rose. Once all the cupcakes are decorated place them into a gift bag and wrap it with a ribbon.

This is what the final product should look like.

1

Ps: These will make a perfect valentine’s gift.

Enjoy baking!

2 thoughts on “What’s Baking?

Leave a Reply

